Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-04-04 - 11:58 p.m.

On the drive home from work tonight (tonight for at least two more minutes), I was singing along to some damn song or other on the radio (tuned to 102.7, the oldies station, known for never officially acknowldgeing the psychadelic era, nor any song not considered pop for it's time) when out of nowhere, a middle aged black woman with a Trinidadian accent called out to me from the side walk and asked me for a lift. I immediately slammed on the breaks, and pulled over, and opened the door, tossing my work-shirt into the back and turning off the radio to see where she wanted to go. Turned out she needed a lift for about a mile past where I live, and seeing as I had nothing else to do tonight, except write this damn entry, I said OK. Her name is Helene, she works for (ominous roll of Ironic Thunder) Marriott, she doesn't get to go home to Trinidad during the Winter months because of work, because of Marriott (see, I knew they were EVIL), and while she loved NYC for the three months she lived there, the winter months were not for her. She was immediately interesting, accessible, warm and loud. We had a great conversation for about 5 minutes, and then we got to where she was going (an all-night drug store), and we parted ways. I will never see her again, and all I know of her I have written here.

She kind of re-awakened my love of humanity in 5 minutes. In giving her a lift, I am uplifted.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

[ Previous 5 Sites | Skip Previous | Previous | Next ]

This RingSurf New College Diaryring Net Ring
owned by Pretentious White-boy Musings.

[ Skip Next | Next 5 Sites | Random Site | List Sites ]