Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-04-16 - 1:59 p.m.

Right.

So this is the official continuation of the previous entry, and I'm probably going to add lots of Meaningless and Unnecessary Links for the next week or so. "But Padraig", you ask, "won't all this mindless efluvia merely distract your readers, and yourself, from the pure and unadulterated genius you usually produce?" An excellent question, but this is simply not a worry: I haven't produced any genius in a while, so I'm merely using the graphics to distract you from my intellectual hiatus. And to further distract you, here's a funny link!

Funny Link!

So, with that out of the way, updates. First off, I visited Sarasota and hung with friends great and small. Achlis and I drank like fish, always a pleasure, and I visited Arcanologist's "Fetish Ball", an underappreciated gem. I learned that leather cat o' nines don't hurt all that much! And that I'm not going anywhere near anyone with any whip ever again! The main purpose of the visit, however, was to wish luck to a great friend of mine, who had her Baccaleaureate on Teusday. I can only pray it wasn't too Taxing.

I also got cast in a great show, one which will really give my acting chops a test. It's called "Apron Strings", and it is written by Michael McKeever, a local, but pretty well-known, playwrite. It's a series of short one-acts, 6 in all, and I have lead roles in two or them, and supporting roles in another two. The pay is $200 a week (not too shabby), and we open in about a week and a half at the Hollywood Playhouse in (of all places) Hollywood. I had to drop out of a non-paying production in Dania beach to do it, but that other show, while remarkably well cast and including some of the best actors I've had the good fortune to work with, had a director intent, it seemed, on making the show as irrelevant as possible. Homoerotic slow-motion where it didn't fit the script, and so forth. I saw the worst show in my life a week ago, but it had some of the best acting in a play I've seen in years. I hung out with actors, and will do so again this weekend. I also need to work out, as my metabolism is starting to drop, so please gimme a call now and then to tell me to stop being so God-awful lazy.

The tour was great, but exhausting. I did St. Patrick's day right in NYC with Malraux and the Serpent. There was Guiness and Lychee Milkshakes aplenty, and the do was done right. I spent several days with my twin as well, and I finally figured out why I'm so damn innefectual whenever I visit him: I'm simply lost. I didn't know the area in NYC, so whenever we walked I always let him lead (a personality tick which gets old fast). On my last day with him, I finally took some time to scout the area on my own, and almost immediately I felt connected. I'll post a picture of him soon. MY sister's Birthday also took place, and for her present I admitted that I had been a Jack-ass when I dismissed 'Josie and the Pussycats: the movie" as crap without seeing it first. It turns out it's really good: funny, biting, and deeply cynical. It has the same problem as 'Fight Club': an ad-campaign which presented the satire in good faith. I'm also gonna get her a cd, but which I do not know yet. Maybe the White Stripes, of whom I have heard great things.

So that's the news from Lake Wobegon. Next time, I'll share my thoughts on the Victory in Iraq, and the state of Democracy in the US. I'm sure you cant' wait.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

[ Previous 5 Sites | Skip Previous | Previous | Next ]

This RingSurf New College Diaryring Net Ring
owned by Pretentious White-boy Musings.

[ Skip Next | Next 5 Sites | Random Site | List Sites ]