Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-14 - 5:06 p.m.

I just had a great day, and I'm sort of praying that nothing will spoil it. I went to the Morikami Museum and Gardens, possibly the only place that makes sense of Florida for me. It's on the grounds of a Japanese-Farmers' Colony from the 1900's, and the gardens are simply incredible. I've been there twice now, and both timeas I have felt a peace and serenity that I rarely feel. It's like the way I describe acting, but ... well ... quiet. Finding the Divine through the subtle, if you will. Fascinating place, the gardens involve local flora, but are arranged with a distinctly Japanese Aesthetic. There are really several gardens, each being representative of an era of garden-philosophy in Japan, from the Heian to the Modern Periods. The rock gardens are incredible, the pavillions provide shade and quiet, the water, the trees, the wind crackling through the bamboo grove all combine to ease you. I feel recharged just having been there, at peace with myself, and thoughtful.

I needed just such an experience pretty badly, too. On Sunday I worked another 14 1/2 hour shift at the restaurant. Made $200, $600 for the week. This is good. Sunday was the busiest day of the year, I served 58 customers, worked non-stop with no break, no breakfast, dinner, or lunch, had no water-breaks, and indeed no water, during the entire time, and there was a 16 year old kid working under exactly the same conditions and hours. That was not good. Needless to say, I was a little shagged-out by it all. Fortunately, the days at work are numbered at 10. Today I hand in my 2-week notice, fort in June I become an actor. Good news on that score, too. I got called back for the Hobbit, for the part of Thorin Oakenshield, the leader of the dwarves, King under the Mountain. Now, Dwarves are small and very thick. I am medium height, and really quite thin. So, either something is very wrong, or very very right here. They're gonna test me against the other dwarves they have, and if I interact right, and am not too tall for it, I'm gonna get the part. The call back is on Saturday, so rock on all around. This is my professional debut, in Childrens Theater anyway. But if I can pull of Thorin Oakenshild, by God, I can pull off anything. :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

[ Previous 5 Sites | Skip Previous | Previous | Next ]

This RingSurf New College Diaryring Net Ring
owned by Pretentious White-boy Musings.

[ Skip Next | Next 5 Sites | Random Site | List Sites ]